Quantcast

I need a scripter

Hi i need a scripter for my map only acid and lava and wall jumps

1 Like

It’s better if you can script it yourself, we can teach you.

1 Like

I am not a scripter. I’m an OK builder, but I only know ur standard fe2 scripts and stuff. Lol I need teaching too

1 Like

So, what do you want to know?

I don’t even know where to start

1 Like

Basic scripting?

LOL

1 Like

U don’t have to waste ur time explaining it to me unless u want too. It’s probably better if I just go on YouTube and figure it out lol

1 Like

The tutorials are kinda outdated from the ones I’ve seen lol, I’ll teach about EventScript since I forgot about EventString.

Tell me what you want to know.

I know the fe2 stuff, it’s more button functs, doors, lights sounds and other detailing stuff that I want to know

1 Like

So I suppose you already know about “script.Parent” right? If you do, it’ll make my job easier.

Button functs and water I could probably teach myself, but for example an alarm that goes off during the map that doesn’t activate because of a button

1 Like

Yes I do… kinda

1 Like

I might be able to explain that the parent is the part and a child is an insert ex. Smoke or a particle emitter

1 Like

So to make a sound plays when a button is pressed, there’s two ways to do it.

The first way is insert a “sound” then name it “_Sound[buttonNum]”, you can make it delayed too by using “_Delay”.

The second way is by scripting.

--The setup
local mapScript = require(game.ServerScriptService.MapScript)
local BtnPress = game.ServerStorage.Bindables.BtnPress

local btnFuncs = {} 

BtnPress.Event:connect(function(plr, btnNo)
    if btnFuncs[btnNo] then
        btnFuncs[btnNo](btnNo, plr)
    end
end)

btnFuncs[buttonNum] = function()
    [soundAddress]:Play() --examples of [soundAddress]: script.Parent.Sound, script.Parent.SoundsFolder.MetalHit1
end

To delay use “wait()” eg.

btnFuncs[buttonNum] = function()
    wait(2) --waits 2 seconds